Perhaps no midwest road trip would be complete without a stop at Mount Rushmore Memorial, if like me you’ve never been. Since I realized it was only 40 minutes off my route to Beartooth Pass, of course I had to see it. Although I’m far too poor, erm, thrifty to pay the $11 to actually get into the park, I did glean some pretty decent pictures from the Rd. It’s quite the sight to see, and although Rushmore was not even close to the top of my travel destinations bucket list, I was impressed.  

So strange to see them looming solemnly out of the trees, towering over you oddly as you reach the summit, like they don’t belong there miles out on the face of a mountain. It’s really incredible, how the 50ft busts were carved out of sheer granite. It took 14 years, over 400 men, and nearly 1 million dollars to carve mostly during the Great Depression. That alone is worth some respect. It’s something everyone should see at some point during their lifetime.  

image

image

